My experience with the J N Tata Scholarship

Candid story of getting through a prestigious program

Purvee Chauhan
6 min readJan 15, 2021
Photo by Emily Karakis on Unsplash

While studying abroad is highly aspirational and can be a life-changer, it comes with overwhelming financial costs that can be a constraint for many to not pursue it at all. The loans aid to get in, and part-time jobs can help survive, but these options come with their own implications of repaying a large debt over long durations of time or, losing crucial study time to work. Scholarships help ease this burden, enable success for every individual and make education more equitable.

In early 2019, I got selected for my Master’s in Education from Harvard University after which I applied to scholarships (listed at the end of this article) after a conversation with my flatmate. I was one of the fortunate ones to have received funding of over 50% of my tuition fees, a great contributor to that was the prestigious J N Tata Scholarship apart from Godrej Scholarship and my own school’s financial aid program. I spent a year focusing on taking courses and immersing myself in learning. It has definitely been the best year of my life. In this article I detail my experience of applying and getting through the J N Tata Endowment for higher studies. I am certain that the information below would be helpful to prepare for similar scholarship opportunities.

--

--

Purvee Chauhan

It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. ~ The Little Prince